Day 134. A month later.

·

3 min read

I did not complete my goal! (and it was an easy one too...) I almost did though! But then now, all of a sudden, they've updated it, so I'll have to start over! In any case, I'm planning to review a ton of stuff this week. Why? Okay, so the reason I wasn't doing that much in TOP again is because I applied for this JS course at a big IT outsourcing company which if completed successfully can go into an internship (sadly unpaid, or, let's just say, it's like a free practice course), and haven't heard from them forever (I applied in mid-September and they only reached out in beginning of November). But then they were like, okay, get ready for the testing. So I had to go over lots of stuff that they were going to test on. Basically, basics of algorithms and data structures (I did most of one 5-hr course on YouTube and another Russian-language one, that's only 1 hr but super condensed), basic methods, stuff like client-server interaction. I finished the test today (it included multiple choice questions and three programming problems, stuff like, "write a function that reverses every word in a string" and "make an object which shows counts of each unique word in an array"), I think I did okay (my solutions passed their automated tests at least), but I'm a bit worried about their cheating detection system since it warned me when I accidentally went out of full-screen mode, and another time when I was copy-pasting a part of my code. We'll see if they reach out to have a phone interview. So I'll need to prepare for that meanwhile. Planning to review my TOP projects and do more review on JS basics (I need to look up syntax a lot!). I know I need to get back on TOP track... But not this week. This week I'm back in Saint Petersburg, sorting stuff out, and I need to decide whether I'll stay here for the next couple months (I did not really earn a vacation after all, right - did not finish that course! but also... if I get into that program and eventually the internship, this might be my last chance to get away. It's pretty cold here at the moment, but also, flying back gave me a bit of anxiety about COVID... decisions decisions). I'm still hopeful about my learning! I'm definitely not dropping it! When I was doing the algorithms course, it was actually super interesting and I'm kind of excited to learn more CS-y stuff. I now know what graphs are and what Dijkstra algorithm is. Whenever I read bits about graphs (I'll see a coding problem dealing with some sort of route evaluation, and someone would comment, "Oh that's simple graph algorithm," I would think they are some genius, and this is some complicated stuff definitely with logarithms and whatever mathy stuff, but it's... doable! Also that company's page on materials to prepare recommended YDKJS book which I've seen recommended everywhere so I'll start reading it and hopefully stick to it...